rebe pic

Golden Apple Foundation volunteers will be delivering 6,500 golden delicious apples donated by Schnucks, thank you cards, and teacher nomination forms to every classroom teacher and principal in all public and non-public ISBE recognized schools in Winnebago and Boone Counties on Thursday, September 17, 2015. This annual event kicks off the nomination period for the Golden Apple Teacher Awards and is a great way for members of the community to express their gratitude and appreciation for our area educators. To get involved, register and select your school delivery site(s) by visiting  or by calling (815) 226-4180.

Nominations for the Golden Apple Teacher Awards will be accepted now through October 19, 2015. Online nominations can be made at . Paper forms will be available in all area schools and participating community sites beginning on September 17, 2015 and can be submitted to Golden Apple Foundation’s office at 5050 E. State St., Rockford, IL 61108.. This year Golden Apple Foundation will award teachers of PreK through 5. To be eligible the nominee must be a teacher who teaches a group of students in a classroom on a regular basis and who is that group of students’ primary teacher.

(Formularios de nominación en español pueden ser obtenidas en nuestra oficina localizada en 5050 E. State St., Rockford, IL 61108; en las oficinas de La Voz Latina; o en las escuelas bilingües.) Nominations in languages other than English and Spanish will also be accepted.

6th through 12th grade teachers are eligible for a Golden Apple Classroom Grant. Grant applications are due by 5:00 on Thursday, October 1st. For grant information visit

Volunteers are needed to serve on the Golden Apple selection and observation committees which are tasked with providing an unbiased review of all teacher portfolios and classroom observations. Volunteers cannot be employed by any school or district eligible for the award. Volunteers can register online at or by phone at 815-226-4180.

Golden Apple Foundation inspires, celebrates and supports educational excellence in our community.