Golden Apple Foundation is pleased to announce the names of 20 teachers from Winnebago and Boone County who have been selected to move forward in the process for the 2017 Golden Apple Awards for Excellence in Teaching.  These talented 6th -12th grade teachers were chosen by a selection committee of community volunteers who had the difficult task of selecting only 20 teachers from a large group of worthy nominees.

Please join us in congratulating the following excellent teachers….

Jeff Corn
North Boone High School - Poplar Grove
9-12 Geometry, Honors PreCalculus, AP Calculus


Christina Dover
Eisenhower Middle School - Rockford
8th grade ELA & Honors ELA


Jeremy Edwards
Belvidere High School -
Freshman Biology


Richard Elston
Guilford High School - Rockford
9-10 World History; 9th Honors World History


Thomas Freesmeier
Harlem Middle School - Machesney Park
8th grade Social Studies


Alex Hartz
Hononegah Community High School - Rockton
9-12 Math: Algebra 1AB, Algebra 2, AP Calculus BC


C. Kent Holden
Maria Montessori Elementary - Rockford
7th & 8th grade Math & Science


Linda Julian
Willowbrook Middle School - South Beloit
5-8 Choir; 7th grade Speech; General Music


Jennifer Keller
Harlem High School - Machesney Park
9-12 German


Michael Manke
Rockford Christian - Rockford
7th Grade Physical Science


Joe Meersman
Boylan Catholic High School - Rockford
9-12 Accounting, Business Law, Marketing, Information Processing 1&2


Kimber Perala
South Beloit High School -
South Beloit
HS Government, Sociology, Consumer Education, World Culture, AP Psychology


Heather Plourde
Hononegah Community High School - Rockton
9th grade Physical Education; 10-12 Health


Sarah Schaefer
Roosevelt Community Education Center - Rockford
10-12 Enviro 1&2; Earth 1&2; Biology 1&2; Robotic Integrated Algebra-based Physics


Susan Schroepfer
Harlem High School - Machesney Park
7-8 Special Education; cross categorical Math, Geometry & Algebra 2


Lis Schurman
Belvidere Central Middle School -
6th-8th grade Band


Julie Thomas
Harlem High School - Machesney Park
9-12 Spanish


Danielle Turner
Belvidere High School -
9th Grade Health Education


Sarah Wolf
Belvidere Central Middle School -
6th Grade Social Studies & Math


Jared Young
Belvidere North High School
- Belvidere
9-12 Business

These teachers will be observed in their classrooms by trained community volunteers on four separate occasions between Jan. 17 and Feb. 17, 2017. The next step in the selection process after observations is an interview. The process culminates with the selection of five teachers who will receive the prestigious Golden Apple Award in surprise classroom presentations featured by WREX-13 and the Rockford Register Star.

Individuals interested in participating as a Golden Apple classroom observer can register online at or call 815-226-4180.

Each Golden Apple award winning teacher will receive a cash award; a professional development stipend; a Rockford University Scholarship; a laptop computer and computer software compliments of Entré Computer Solutions; a desktop computer compliments of Rockford Computers for Schools; and two sets of season tickets to the Rockford Coronado Concert Association 2017-2018 season. In addition, they will be inducted into the Golden Apple Teacher Academy where, as members, they will work to increase public awareness of educational excellence in our schools, promote the profession of education and provide professional development training and mentoring to new and veteran teachers.

Golden Apple Foundation is celebrating its 21st year of taking positive steps to achieve improved education in Winnebago and Boone counties. The Annual Golden Apple Banquet recognizing Excellence in Education and honoring the Golden Apple Teachers will be held Friday, April 28, 2017, at the Radisson Hotel & Conference Center, sponsored by First Midwest Group, Inc.

Golden Apple Foundation inspires, recognizes and supports excellence in education in our community.

For more information, contact Jennifer Stark at 815-226-4180 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..