apples SML

Golden Apple Foundation is pleased to announce the names of 20 Teachers from Winnebago and Boone County who have been selected to move forward in the process for the 2015 Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching.  These talented 6th-12th grade teachers were chosen by a selection committee of community volunteers who had the difficult task of selecting only 20 teachers from a large group of worthy nominees.


Please join us in congratulating the following excellent teachers….


Kimberly Brahmstedt

Belvidere South Middle School


7th grade Math


Karen Cantele

Belvidere High School


9th-12th grade Music


Barb Chidley

Auburn High School


9th & 11th grade English & Renaissance Writing


Jeff Corn

North Boone High School

Poplar Grove

9th-12th grade Math


Betsy Dhom

Roscoe Middle School


5th-8th grade Special Ed. Life Skills


Lori Dobler

Rockford Lutheran School


7th grade Science & 8th & 10th grade Health


Sheila Felder

Rockford Lutheran School


3rd-12th grade Music


Rohini Gupta

Harlem High School

Machesney Park

12th grade Math


Kristine Marie Heystek

Keith Country Day School


6th-8th grade English


Linda Julian

Willowbrook Middle School

South Beloit

3rd-8th grade Music


Amélie Leparoux

Jefferson High School


9th-12th grade French


Laurie Mayer

Willowbrook Middle School

South Beloit

6th grade Literature & 6th-8th grade Spanish


Gretchen Fillweber Milner

Hononegah Community High School


9th-12th grade English


Amy Orvis

Thurgood Marshall School


7th-8th grade Montessori Social Studies & Language Arts


Rebecca Ann Pelley

Boylan Catholic High School


9th-12th grade Art & Critical Thinking


Richard Reynolds

Saint Peter Cathedral School


6th-8th grade Math & History


James Schoepski

Belvidere High School


9th-12th grade Social Studies


Tiffany Weber

Winnebago Middle School


7th-8th grade Science


Sean Weinberg

South Beloit Junior High School

South Beloit

7th-8th grade Science


Melissa Wolf

Guilford High School


9th-12th grade Theater & Choir


These teachers will be observed by trained community volunteers on four separate occasions in their classrooms during January and February, 2015.  They will participate in an interview in the final stage of the selection process.  The process will culminate with the selection of 5 Teachers who will receive the prestigious Golden Apple Award in surprise classroom presentations featured on 13 WREX and by the Rockford Register Star.

Each Golden Apple teacher will receive a cash award, a professional development stipend, a Rockford University Scholarship, a laptop computer and computer software compliments of Entré Computer Solutions, a desktop computer compliments of Rockford Computers for Schools, and two sets of season tickets to the Rockford Coronado Concert Association 2015-20216 season.  In addition, they will be inducted into the Golden Apple Teacher Academy where, as members, they will work to increase public awareness of educational excellence in our schools, promote the profession of education and provide professional development training and mentoring to new and veteran teachers.

Golden Apple Foundation is celebrating its 19th year of taking positive steps to achieve improved education in Winnebago and Boone Counties.  The Annual Golden Apple Banquet recognizing Excellence in Education and honoring the Golden Apple Teachers will be held on Friday, May 1, 2015 at the Radisson Hotel & Conference Center sponsored by First Midwest Group, Inc. 


Golden Apple Foundation inspires, recognizes and supports excellence in education in our community.