2024 Golden Apple Award Recipients, Golden Apple News

Six Teachers Receive the 2024 Golden Apple Teacher Award

On March 7, 2024, Golden Apple Foundation of Rockford sent staff, board members and Teacher Academy volunteers throughout Boone and Winnebago counties to surprise six teachers with Golden Apples in their classrooms. Their family members, peers and administration kept the secret well, as each recipient shouted, cried or hid their faces, gasping in surprise as dozens of people filed into their classrooms. Here are this year’s Golden Apple Teachers:

Leann Burmeister-Juliano, who teaches ELA at Belvidere North High School in Belvidere

Michael Davis, who teaches PLUS 6-8 (Special Education) at Kennedy Middle School in Rockford

Alex Hartz, who teaches Algebra and Calculus at Hononegah Community High School in Rockton

Molly Kettelhut, who teaches 7th grade ELA and Social Studies at Galapagos Rockford Charter School

Yuri Moctezuma, who teaches 6th grade Social Studies at Belvidere South Middle School

Cara Wolfe, who teaches 8th grade ELA at Flinn Middle School

Congratulations to these excellent educators who will also receive a cash prize and a Rockford University scholarship.

The six teachers won from a list of 20 finalists and will be honored at the Golden Apple Excellence in Education Award Banquet April 26 at the Tebala Event Center.