Community News, Golden Apple News

2022-2023 Golden Apple Teacher Finalists Announced

Golden Apple Foundation of Rockford is pleased to announce the names of 20 teachers from Winnebago and Boone counties selected to move forward in the selection process for the 2023 Golden Apple Awards for Excellence in Teaching award. These talented PreK – 5th grade teachers were chosen by a selection committee of community volunteers who had the challenging task of selecting only 20 teachers from a large group of worthy nominees.

Please join us in congratulating these excellent teachers:

Kelli Blank, Donald C. Parker Center, Machesney Park, Kindergarten

Nicole Busker, Seth Whitman Elementary, Belvidere, 2nd Grade

Emily Daub, Ellis Elementary School, Rockford, Kindergarten

Dianna Dornink, Durand Elementary School, Durand, 4th Grade

Crystal Ellis, Stone Creek Elementary, Roscoe, 3rd Grade

Kelly Golich, Keith Country Day School, Rockford, Junior Kindergarten

Amanda Hahn, North Boone Upper Elementary, Poplar Grove, 5th Grade

Jelena Holcomb, STEAM Academy at Haskell, Rockford, Kindergarten

Kimberlee Malmberg, Washington Elementary, Rockford, 3rd Grade

Whitney Mohr, Rolling Green Elementary, Rockford, Special Education

Kimberly Plaster, Galapagos Charter School, Rockford, 3rd Grade

Chelsea Rawhoof, Pecatonica Elementary, Pecatonica, 2nd Grade

Lisa Robinson, Rolling Green Elementary, Rockford, Kindergarten

Jennifer Rowe, Whitehead Elementary, Rockford, 4th Grade

Mallori Sage, Whitehead Elementary, Rockford, 3rd Grade

Sarah Shoevlin, Prairie Hill Elementary, South Beloit, 3rd Grade

Miranda Thompson, Donald C. Parker Center, Machesney Park, Kindergarten

Michelle VanWambeke, Windsor Elementary, Loves Park, Special Education 1&2

Amie Walker, Henry Bloom Elementary, Rockford, Kindergarten

Addie Wilson, Thurgood Marshall, Rockford, 2nd Grade

These teachers will be observed in their classrooms by trained community volunteers on three separate occasions between Jan. 17 and Feb. 15, 2023. The next step in the selection process after observations is an interview. The process culminates with the selection of five teachers who will receive the prestigious Golden Apple Award in surprise classroom presentations.

Golden Apple Foundation is celebrating its 26th year of taking positive steps to achieve improved education in Winnebago and Boone counties. The Annual Golden Apple Banquet recognizing Excellence in Education and honoring the Golden Apple Teachers will be held Friday, April 28, 2023, at the Tebala Event Center, sponsored by Bergstrom Charitable Foundation and Collin Aerospace. Golden Apple Foundation’s mission is to inspire, celebrate and support excellence in education in our community.